News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/12/2019 11:45:30 AM to 3/1/2019 12:00:10 AM.

News Flash

Human Services

Posted on: February 12, 2019

[ARCHIVED] It's PA 211 Day

Health and Human Services Assistance Number Recognized

HARRISBURG – The House today unanimously approved a resolution authored by Reps. Lynda Schlegel Culver (R-Northumberland/Snyder) and Eric Nelson (R-Hempfield) to recognize Feb. 11, 2019, as “PA 2-1-1 Day” in Pennsylvania.

House Resolution 69 recognizes this free telephone and texting service that connects Pennsylvanians in need of health and human services assistance through government programs and private and nonprofit organizations. State and local government use 2-1-1 data about information and referral requests to assess needs and planning services.

“I encourage residents from across the Commonwealth to use this resource,” Culver said. “2-1-1 is a free, confidential telephone line for referrals and information regarding issues that impact people on a daily basis. Assistance can be gained in areas such as housing and utilities, food, health, employment, veterans, crisis and disasters.”

“This important informational number was very helpful to Westmoreland County residents who had to be relocated due to last summer’s flooding,” Nelson said. “In addition to state monies allocated in last year’s budget, the United Way was vital in assisting to fund this important resource for health and human services.”

The service will be available statewide by the end of the year. Currently, 97 percent of Commonwealth residents have access to the service through seven regional programs. It is especially useful in providing assistance in times of disaster as it connects volunteers and donors with organizations that can leverage resources to meet the needs of the community.

The 108th Legislative District includes the city of Sunbury; Delaware, East Chillisquaque, Jackson, Lewis, Little Mahanoy, Lower Augusta, Lower Mahanoy, Point, Rockefeller, Rush,

Turbot, Upper Augusta and West Chillisquaque townships, and Herndon, McEwensville, Milton,

Northumberland, Riverside, Snydertown, Turbotville and Watsontown boroughs in Northumberland County. The Snyder County portion of the district includes Chapman, Monroe, Union and Washington townships and Freeburg and Shamokin Dam boroughs.

The 57th Legislative District includes the following Westmoreland County communities: the city of Greensburg; the townships of Hempfield (part) and Salem; and the boroughs of Delmont, Hunker, New Stanton, South Greensburg, Southwest Greensburg and Youngwood.

Facebook Twitter Email