News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/5/2016 2:30:00 PM to 12/2/2016 12:05:03 AM.

News Flash

Area Agency on Aging

Posted on: April 26, 2016

[ARCHIVED] Farmers' Market Checks

The 2016 Senior Farmers’ Market Program provides eligible seniors with checks to purchase produce grown in Pennsylvania. This program, which is sponsored by the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, provides eligible individuals four $5.00 checks to use at any participating Farmers’ Market to purchase fresh fruits and vegetables. The checks can be used from June 1, 2016 until November 30, 2016.

To qualify for the program, participants must:
• Be age 60 or older (or age 60 before December 31, 2016)
• Be a resident of Westmoreland County
• Must not have already received checks at another sign-up this year
• Meet income guidelines
o $21,978 for a single person
o $29,637 for a married couple

Residents of Personal Care Homes, Domiciliary Care Homes and Convents are not eligible.

You must provide proof of age and residency when signing up for checks. Acceptable proofs of age include: PACE Card, PA Driver’s License, Baptismal Certificate, Birth Certificate, or an AAA Green Card.

Homebound individuals may have someone apply for them with the required documentation of age and residency, as well as a completed proxy form. The proxy form will be available at the sign-up sites and the Area Agency on Aging office. The form requires both the signature of the senior and the individual picking up the checks; therefore, the proxy form needs completed prior to receiving the vouchers. Power of Attorney (POA’s) also must complete a proxy form. The scheduled sign-up sites and times are as follows:

Mt. Pleasant Center for Active Adults
424 Washington Street, Mt. Pleasant
724-547-4593
Monday, June 6
9:00am-1:00pm

Latrobe Center for Active Adults
15 Avenue C, Latrobe
724-539-0237
Thursday, June 9
9:00am-12:00pm

New Alexandria Center for Active Adults
207 Main Street, New Alexandria
724-668-7055
Friday, June 10
9:00am-11:00am

Herminie Center for Active Adults
101 Sewickley Avenue, Herminie
724-446-3282
Thursday, June 16
9:00am-12:00pm

Avonmore Center for Active Adults
458 Railroad Street, Avonmore
724-697-4014
Friday, June 17
9:00am-12:00pm

New Kensington Center for Active Adults
1039 Third Avenue, New Kensington
724-335-8597
Wednesday, June 22
9:00am-12:00pm

East Vandergrift Center for Active Adults
400 McKinley Avenue, East Vandergrift
724-568-2692
Thursday, June 23
9:00am-12:00pm

New Florence Center for Active Adults
216 Ligonier Street, New Florence
724-235-2800
Wednesday, June 29
9:00am-11:00am

Valley Center for Active Adults
135 Kalassay Drive, Ligonier
724-238-7942
Wednesday, June 29
1:00pm-2:30pm

Monessen Center for Active Adults
1925 Grand Blvd., Monessen
724-684-6105
Wednesday, June 29
9:00am-12:00pm

West Newton Center for Active Adults
103 East Main Street, West Newton
724-872-4976
Wednesday, July 13
9:00am-12:00pm

VFW Post 92
1601 Wildlife Lodge Road, Lower Burrell
Thursday, July 14
10:00am-12:00pm

McKenna Center for Active Adults
971 Old Salem Road, Greensburg
724-837-8832
Friday, July 15
9:00am-12:00pm

Allegheny Township
136 Community Building Road, Leechburg
Wednesday, July 20
10:00am-12:00pm

Jeannette Center for Active Adults
211 Gaskill Street, Jeannette
724-527-3200
Friday, July 22
9:00am-12:00pm

Senior Life-Greensburg
123 Triangle Drive, Greensburg
Tuesday, July 26
10:00am-12:00pm

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Church
Mack Hall
200 Leger Road, N. Huntingdon
Wednesday, July 27
9:00am-12:00pm

Trafford Municipal
Trafford Municipal Building
412 Brinton Avenue, Trafford
Wednesday, August 3
10:00am-12:00pm

Cloverleaf Estates
200 Cloverleaf Circle, Delmont
Thursday, August 4
10:00am-12:00pm

Export Italian American Club
5930 Kennedy Avenue, Export
Monday, August 8
10:00am-12:00pm

St. Barbara Church
Raymaley & Waugaman Road, Harrison City
Tuesday, August 9
9:00am-12:00pm

Scottdale Manor
20 Pearl Street, Scottdale
Tuesday, August 16
10:00am-12:00pm

Norwin Community Resource Center
231 Jennie Drive, N. Huntingdon
Thursday, August 18
9:00am-12:00pm

Senior Life-Greensburg
123 Triangle Drive, Greensburg
Monday, August 22
10:00am-12:00pm

South Greengate Commons
164 S. Greengate Road, Greensburg
Wednesday, Aug 24
10:00am-12:00pm

Level Green Community Building
123 Murrysville Road, Level Green
Thursday, August 25
9:00am-11:00am

Area Agency on Aging
Troutman Building
200 S. Main Street, Greensburg
724-830-4444
Monday, August 29
10:00am-1:00pm

Facebook Twitter Email