Tax Sale Pre-Registration
REMEMBER YOU MUST REGISTER BEFORE A TAX SALE.
Pennsylvania House Bill 264 (now Act 33) requires that anyone who intends to bid at a scheduled upset sale or judicial sale MUST appear and register at the Tax Claim bureau not less than 10 days before the scheduled sale. You must register and comply with this requirement for each sale in which you intend to submit a bid. A $25 fee is required for filing an application to register.
An individual must include their name, residential address and phone number. If not an individual, you must include the applicant’s name, including the name of all officers, business address and phone number. If the applicant is a limited liability company or corporation than the names, business addresses and phone numbers of all members, Managers and any other persons with any ownership interest or right in the limited liability company or corporation must be included.
You must also include an affidavit stating that you or your entity is not delinquent in paying real estate taxes to any taxing district in this Commonwealth and that the applicant has no municipal utility bills that are not more than one year outstanding anywhere in the Commonwealth. The affidavit must also include a statement that the applicant is not bidding for or acting as an agent for a person who is barred from participating in the sale. The applicant must also verify that they, in the three years preceding the filing of the application, have not engage in a course of conduct or permitted an uncorrected housing code violation to continue unabated after being convicted of an uncorrected housing code violation. The applicant must also verify that they have not failed to maintain property owned by the applicant in a reasonable manner such that the Property posed a threat to health, safety or property; or permitted the use of property in an unsafe, illegal or unsanitary manner such that the property posed a threat to health, safety or property.
Any applicant who signs a bidder registration application knowing that it contains a false statement or who causes it to be filed with the bureau shall be subject to prosecution for a misdemeanor the second degree in violation of 18 PA. C. S. Section 4904 (a) relating to unsworn falsification to authorities.
If the applicant is not an individual documentation must be provided that the signer has the authority to act on behalf of the applicant and the individual appearing in person to register and is the signer of the application is otherwise authorized to act on behalf of the applicant.
When registering as an LLC, Corporation, or Entity, you must bring documentation relating to the incorporation registration with the State of Pennsylvania.
The $25 application fee must be included with the application and affidavits.
Know what you are buying. NO REFUNDS! The full amount of bid must be paid by end of business day (3:30pm) of any sale. If payment in full is not received by end of business day, the bidder will be precluded from purchasing any property through the Westmoreland County Tax Claim Bureau for any future sales.