Remaking Our Westmoreland

As outlined in Reimagining Our Westmoreland, the Planning Districts approach is an effort to implement many of the strategies and actions associated with the comprehensive plan. The individual 65 municipalities that makeup Westmoreland County were divided into seven more manageable Planning Districts. 

The Planning Districts approach is based on the notion that county government is best suited to deliver planning and technical assistance; local government is best suited to understand local needs and wants and to carry out the plan’s recommendations; and it’s the collaboration between the two that is the formula for implementation.

The intent of each district plan is to contextualize and apply Reimagining Our Westmoreland to the specific municipalities in each Planning District. The plans focus on land use, mobility, and intergovernmental cooperation. Click the districts to the left to view each plan.

Planning districts map